01628 484024

Council Staff

General enquiries should be emailed to


Contracts and Projects Manager

To apply please complete the application form with your CV and covering letter to, closing date, July 30th 2024.

Marlow Town Council are looking to recruit an experienced and Contracts/Projects Manager to join our team. Marlow Town Council has devolved services responsibility from Buckinghamshire Council for grass cutting and hedge cutting, parks, open spaces. Council also maintains a Cemetery and has an active Wildflower programme.

You will have a strong record in managing the performance of contracted providers and ensuring the delivery of effective and efficient services, as well as possessing excellent negotiation skills.

As a manager within the Council team, you will play a key role in the delivery of our Community Payback Programme and will demonstrate outstanding interpersonal skills to manage and build relationships with the team.



HOURS                  17 per week

JOB PURPOSE      To appoint, manage and monitor MTC’s major contractors, prepare Service Level Agreements (SLAs) and ensure they are complied with. To manage key MTC projects ensuring they meet all time and financial targets and specifications. Liaise with relevant internal and external stakeholders.


1. Contractors

  • Prepare, manage, and evaluate tender documents and processes as per Financial Regulations.
  • Work with the Town Clerk and where appropriate, Members, to appoint contractors.
  • Draw up and agree Service Level Agreements with contractors and amend as appropriate.
  • Liaison, supervision and monitoring of Buckinghamshire Council Devolved Services Contractors and work with them to ensure standards are achieved or exceeded and SLA fully complied with.
  • Liaison and supervision of other contractors as directed by Town Clerk to ensure standards are maintained or exceeded.
  • Identify areas for improvement or amendment on existing contracts and SLAs and recommend appropriate actions.

2. Projects

  • Manage projects as agreed with Town Clerk – ensure they progress on time, on budget and to agreed standards.
  • Coordinate internal resources and third parties/vendors for the flawless execution of projects.
  • Assist in the definition of project scope and objectives, involving all relevant stakeholders and ensuring feasibility.
  • Ensure resource availability and allocation.
  • Develop a detailed project plan to monitor and track progress.
  • Devise, recommend and action MTC Tree Policy & MTC hedge management policy.
  • Develop and monitor the MTC wildflower policy.
  • Liaise with the Community Payback Contract Manager and Supervisor. Monitor works required and instruct duties to Payback Supervisor.

3. Risk Management / Health and Safety

  • Manage projects and contracts to ensure compliance and public safety from all involved.
  • Ensure all Risk Assessments are accurate, compliant, and up to date.
  • Manage supplier insurance database, ensuring that all contractor insurance documents are current.

4. Communication and Administration

  • Liaise with Marlow residents and businesses to ensure relevant effective communication regarding projects and contracts.
  • Negotiate to obtain best value from contractors and suppliers for materials and services as directed.
  • Manage, maintain, and keep records of all MTC contracts, leases and licenses.
  • Prepare a monthly activity report for Town Clerk
  • Budget responsibility – Monitor designated budget area, advise Town Clerk of variations, and recommend appropriate action.

5. Other Responsibilities

  • To undertake other reasonable duties as directed by the Town Clerk.
  • The job holder may on occasions be required to work outside contracted hours as projects or contracts necessitate.

Person Specification

Area Description Essential/Desirable


Management qualification to degree level E
A recognised qualification in Contract or Project Management E

Legal qualification D


Demonstrable successful management experience of SLAs and monitoring and managing contractors. E

A minimum of 8 years contract management experience ideally within a public sector setting. D

Experience of procurement and supplier negotiation. E

Experience of complex tender processes, delivering high quality and value for money services. E

Proven track record of embracing digital approaches and new ways of working to achieve quantifiable efficiencies. E

Skills and Abilities

Skilled in communications and negotiations with senior staff and contractors. E

Legislative framework of contracting. E

Budget Management. E

Competent use of IT and MS packages. E


Able to build maintain good relationships with Councillors, contractors and public. E

To apply please complete the application form with your CV and covering letter to, closing date, July 30th 2024.

Organisation chart

Council Staff contact details

Mrs Hilary Martin – Town Clerk

Mrs Katherine Joy – Deputy Clerk

Mr Andrew Clarke – Community & Amenities Officer

Mr Nigel Joy – Community & Amenities Officer

Mrs Debbie Abbott – Operations & Admin Officer

Mrs Louise Anderson – PA to Mayor & Administration