

MARLOWTOWNCOUNCIL Court Garden, Pound Lane, Marlow, Bucks SL7 2AG

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING HELD ON TUESDAY 9th MAY 2023 AT 7.20pm IN THE HIGGINSON ROOM, COURT GARDEN, POUND LANE, MARLOW

| Present | Town Mayor Deputy Mayor Leader Deputy Leader | Clir R Scott Clir J Towns Clir C Funnell Clir C Hoyle |
|--------------|---|---|
| | Councillors | T Avery D Brown R Cadman C Heap N Marshall N Mityaeva C Stapley R Wilson |
| | Town Clerk Deputy Clerk | Mrs H Martin Mrs K Joy |
| Also present | 74 members of the public | |

M01.23 ELECTION OF THE TOWN MAYOR – for the Mayoral Year 2023-24

Outgoing Town Mayor, Cllr R Scott, nominated: Cllr D Brown Agreed unanimously.

Cllr Brown accepted the Chain of Office and read and signed the "Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Town Mayor". Cllr Brown then took the chair. He addressed the meeting, thanking Cllr Scott for his service as outgoing Town Mayor and his fellow Councillors for their support.

RESOLVED THAT CLLR D BROWN BE ELECTED TO THE OFFICE OF TOWN MAYOR FOR 2023-24

M02.23 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR – for the Mayoral Year 2023-24

Town Mayor called for nominations for the office of Deputy Mayor Nominated: **Clir C Stapley** Agreed unanimously.

Cllr Stapley accepted the Chain of Office and read and signed the "Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Deputy Mayor". Deputy Mayor addressed the meeting and thanked Cllr J Towns for her service as outgoing Deputy Mayor.

RESOLVED:

THAT CLLR C STAPLEY BE ELECTED TO THE OFFICE OF DEPUTY MAYOR FOR 2023-24

M03.23 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were no apologies for absence.

M04.23 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST There were no declarations of interest.

M05.23 TO APPOINT MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THE COMMITTEES LISTED BELOW:

- a) **Resources Committee** (6 members) Nominations Cllr R Cadman, Cllr C Funnell, Cllr N Mityaeva, Cllr R Wilson, Cllr R Scott, Cllr C Heap b) **Planning and Transport Committee** (5 members) Nominations Cllr R Scott, Cllr T Avery, Cllr N Marshall, Cllr J Towns, Cllr R Wilson (4 members) c) **Environment, Sustainability and Wellbeing Committee** Nominations Cllr C Hoyle, Cllr N Marshall, Cllr C Stapley, Cllr D Brown d) **Community Committee** (6 members) Nominations Town Mayor, Clir C Hoyle, Clir C Heap, Clir C Stapley, Clir R Cadman, Clir J Towns e) (5 members)
 -) Staffing Committee (5 men <u>Nominations</u> Town Mayor, Deputy Mayor, Leader, Deputy Leader, Cllr R Scott

Agreed unanimously.

RESOLVED: THAT THE COMMITTEES FOR THE YEAR 2023-24 BE AGREED AS DETAILED ABOVE

M06.23 TO APPOINT THE CHAIRMAN OF:

- a) Resources Committee Nomination: Cllr N Mityaeva
- b) Planning and Transport Committee Nomination: Cllr R Scott
- c) Environment, Sustainability and Wellbeing Committee Nomination: Cllr C Stapley
- d) Community Committee Nomination: Town Mayor
- e) Staffing Committee Nomination: Leader

Agreed unanimously.

RESOLVED: THAT THE COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN BE AGREED AS DETAILED ABOVE

M07.23 TO AGREE APPOINTMENTS TO THE FOLLOWING GROUPS

a) Steering Group (6 members)

Leader, Chairman of Committees, Town Clerk

Sub – Committees and Working Groups may be formed / disbanded throughout the year as and when necessary.

NOTE: the Town Mayor and Leader are an ex officio member of all committees and working groups

Agreed unanimously.

RESOLVED:

THAT THE STEERING GROUP MEMBERS BE AGREED AS DETAILED ABOVE

M08.23 TO APPOINT REPRESENTATIVES TO OUTSIDE ORGANISATIONS

Permanent Representation on Outside Bodies

Bid Co -Cllr J Towns Marlow Age Concern- Cllr C Heap Marlow Chamber of Trade and Commerce -Cllr Scott Marlow Museum - Cllr N Mityaeva Marlow International Regatta -Town Mayor Marlow Society- Cllr N Marshall Marlow Town Regatta and Festival -Leader of the council Marlow Town Twinning Association (Marly-le-Roi)- Cllr Roy Cadman SW Chiltern Area Community Board Cllr -Leader of the Council

Representatives to other outside organisations will be made on the request of organisation.

Agreed unanimously.

RESOLVED: THAT REPRESENTATIVES TO OUTSIDE ORGANISATIONS BE AGREED AS DETAILED ABOVE

M09.23 DATE AND TIME OF NEXT MEETING

Town Council - Tuesday 13th June 2023 at 7.00pm

Meeting closed at 7.45pm

Town Mayor Date